The College of New Rochelle
A L U M N A E / I  C O L L E G E
2 0 0 9  A W A R D E E S

Angela Merici Medal recipients pictured with President Sweeny are l. to r.:
Eileen Mylod Hayden ’59, Florence O'Donovan ’39, and Carole McCarthy Nicholson ’59. 

A N G E L A  M E R I C I  M E D A L

The Angela Merici Medal is conferred on alumnae for their outstanding demonstration of exceptional loyalty to church and College and distinctive achievement in their careers.

The Medal, designed by Ernest Thorne Thompson, chairman of the Fine Arts Department at the College from 1929 to 1967, was instituted to mark the 50th Anniversary of the founding of the College. Since 1953, over 100 alumnae have received the distinguished award.

2009 Angela Merici Medal Recipients
Florence O'Donovan ’39

Eileen Mylod Hayden ’59

Carole McCarthy Nicholson ’59

U R S U L A  L A U R U S  C I T A T I O N

The Ursula Laurus Citation, created by the College of New Rochelle in 1956, is a special and distinctive award honoring alumnae and friends of New Rochelle who have provided outstanding leadership and have demonstrated by their capabilities, efforts, and interest, their selfless and generous devotion to furthering the high ideals and rich traditions of Ursuline education. 

2009 Ursula Laurus Citation Recipients

Joan Coyne Martin ’44

June Langran Crabtree ’49

Margaret Heinchon Johnson ’49

Claire Waterbury Philips ’54

Mary Ellen Nugent Falk ’59

Marcia Moynihan Norton ’59

Jill Ganey Sullivan ’59

Jean Lilly Sweeney ’59

Joan Fiori Blanchfield ’64

Jane Murphy McGrath ’64

Margaret Pasquariello Holtman ’69

Anne Schreck LaRoche SAS ’74

Elizabeth Donovan Nolan SAS ’79

Susan Morrison SAS ’84

Maria Prainito Pedersen SAS ’84

Robin Zaleski SAS ’89

Jenna Sunderland Barresi SAS ’99

Nicole Totans SAS ’99

2009 Women of Achievement Recipient

Mary Jo Dwyer Murnane ’69


CNR Report 6-5 CNR Main Index